The Unwavering Representation You Need
Bringing a Blue-Collar Work Ethic to Produce Blue Ribbon Results
Lansing DUI Attorney
Creative & Effective DUI Defense Strategies
Being pulled over is nerve-wracking but being charged with a DUI is even scarier. In the U.S., you may be charged with DUI if you were operating a vehicle with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher. What a lot of people charged with DUI do not realize is that they have specific rights regarding traffic stops.
Fighting the Charges against You
In Michigan, a domestic violence charge doesn’t have to involve a physical injury; simply alleging that someone was legitimately afraid that you would hurt them can put you in handcuffs. It is crucial that you be proactive about mitigating the damage from these kinds of accusations.
If you have been pulled over, you
- Do not have to consent to a search
- Have the right to record the traffic stop
- Can only be detained for a reasonable amount of time
- Are allowed to decline to answer questions
- Can request information about the officer who stopped you
If the officer who stopped you violated any of these rights, you may have a strong case. On top of that, the technology that police officers use to assess a driver’s condition and measure blood-alcohol concentration is not always reliable. This is another defense that often proves effective in DUI cases.
Why Choose Us?
- At Coontz Law, I remain dedicated to protecting my clients’ civil rights and helping them fight back against unfair charges or unjust sentences.
- If you are facing DUI charges, rest assured that I am the Lansing DUI attorney you will want on your side.
What to Expect During Your DUI Case
Seeing those flashing red and blue lights in your rearview mirror can be terrifying. If you are not sure who to turn to in the wake of DUI charges, seek representation from Coontz Law. I can help you navigate this process while crafting a strong defense on your behalf.
You will want a skilled Lansing DUI lawyer on your side because a DUI conviction can come with
- Hefty fines
- Jail time
- License suspension
- A mark on your permanent record
- Mandatory DUI school
First-time offenders will likely face less severe consequences than repeat offenders, though the circumstances of the incident will ultimately dictate the sentence. For example, a DUI that caused serious property damage or injured someone will be punished more severely than a DUI that was charged due to a traffic stop.
Penalties for DUI in Michigan
The state of Michigan gives harsh sentencing for DUI charges. It is important that you understand the possible penalties you might be facing depending on your conviction.
The legal BAC limit is 0.08%, but if you have a BAC of 0.17% or above you could be facing enhanced penalties.
You could be facing the additional penalties
- 1-year driver’s license suspension
- 180 days in jail
- Alcohol treatment program
- $700 fine
- 6 points on your driver’s license
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
The penalties you are facing depend on how many convictions you have previously had, as well as any other evidence of impairment that the officer has collected. View our quick guide to drunk driving penalties in Michigan here.
Possible Penalties for a 1st conviction
- Jail Time
- Driver’s License Suspension
- Community Service
- DUI education program
If you have been charged, it is important that you speak to a Lansing DUI attorney right away to discuss your options.
Driver’s License Suspensions
If you are charged with DUI in Michigan, one of the penalties you will likely face is driver’s license suspension. For a first offense, you will usually face a 180-day driver’s license suspension. However, if your BAC level was 0.17% or above, you may face a one-year driver’s license suspension.
After 30 days, you may be granted a restricted license which allows for you to drive to limited locations such as school or work and requires the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). If your BAC level was 0.17% or above, you may not be granted a restricted license until after 45 days, and if there was a passenger under 16 years old in the vehicle, it may not be granted until after 90 days.
I know that this experience is stressful and overwhelming – that is why I provide compassionate yet aggressive defense for every DUI case. Count on Coontz Law for comprehensive representation.