Domestic Violence

The Unwavering Representation You Need
Bringing a Blue-Collar Work Ethic to Produce Blue Ribbon Results

Lansing Domestic Violence Lawyer
Aggressively Protecting Your Rights

Being charged with domestic violence can devastate a person’s life, even if they aren’t convicted. For some professional organizations, the optics of an allegation of violent crime can result in revoked licenses and even job termination.

My team and I at Coontz Law are on your side. We are not intimidated by prosecutors and law enforcement officers who want to paint you as a villain, and we are prepared to do everything possible to protect your future. Give yourself the advantage of having an unwavering Lansing domestic violence lawyer on your side.

Fighting the Charges against You

In Michigan, a domestic violence charge doesn’t have to involve a physical injury; simply alleging that someone was legitimately afraid that you would hurt them can put you in handcuffs. It is crucial that you be proactive about mitigating the damage from these kinds of accusations.

Immediately following a domestic violence charge, you could suffer from

  • Jail time
  • Prohibitions put in place by protective orders
  • Civil lawsuits

It is understandable to feel concerned about what to do next. With a skilled, fearless Lansing domestic violence attorney on your side, you can feel more confident and hopeful about your outcome.

Penalties for Domestic Assault in Michigan

Under Michigan law, a person can be charged with domestic assault if an assault is made against the following persons:

  • A person that the defendant is dating or formerly dated
  • A person that the defendant shares a child with
  • A person that is a former or current household member with the defendant
  • A person that is a current or former spouse of the defendant

If convicted of domestic assault or domestic assault and battery you can face misdemeanor charges punishable by:

  • 93 days in jail
  • A $500 fine

If the assault causes serious or aggravated injury, but does not involve a weapon or the intent to murder you can face:

  • One year in jail
  • A $1000 fine

If you have had prior convictions for domestic violence, you can face:

  • One year in jail
  • A $1000 fine

How Our Lansing Domestic Violence Attorney Can Help

As your advocate, my top priority is to help you tell your side of the story and control the narrative about what happened. You are not a criminal just because someone accuses you of a crime. As your advocate, I will take the time to understand what happened and help you protect your rights throughout the process.

With adequate preparation and the right attitude, I am confident in my ability to help you get the best possible outcome for your tough situation. My team and I maintain helpful relationships with professionals throughout the Lansing legal community, and we are prepared to leverage them if it helps us reach a better outcome. You don’t have to fight your case alone.

Your Fate Can't Wait
Contact Coontz Law Today